Online Store



1971 Ceylon Coinage

Central Bank of Ceylon. Set of Ceylon coins in acrylic display case with an envelope cover.

The name Ceylon was changed to Sri Lanka when the island  became a republic in 1972.

It is derived from the ancient Sanskrit name of Ceylon. These coins ae proofs of the last issue before the change of name.

  1-cent aluminium

  2-cents aluminium

  5-cents nickel brass

  10-cents nickel brass

  25-cents nickel brass

  50-cents cupro nickel

  Rupee Coin cupro nickel

Click picture for additional images.